|R329F||125 Years of the Isle of Man Electric Railway Pair of Covers||£19.95||Sold Out|
Issue Date: 30/06/2018
Issue Name: 125th Anniversary of the Isle of Man Electric Railway Pair of Covers
Producer: Buckingham Covers
In the 1880's and Douglas Bay booming with tourist, two businessmen and a London merchant backer thought to capitalise and bring together the surrounding towns. Work on the railway didn't begin until the spring of 1893, but by September 7th a regular service was already underway.
This famous IOM attraction features prominently on pair of covers and we showcase the IOM official stamps along with a first day of issue Douglas postmark.
Please note: This pair of covers are only reserved for members of our Rail + club and NOT for members of our Rail club, so if you are in our Rail club and would like this pair of covers you will need to contact us to order them. A single stamp cover for the rail series will be issued on the 7th September 2018 for the actual anniversary date and this will be reserved for Rail club members.
The Isle of Man Railway
The Manx Electric Railway (M.E.R) was built between 1893 and 1899 in answer to a booming tourist industry. The idea was to build on the boom and construct large scale housing and pleasure grounds.
Final approval for the development was only granted on the condition that a road was built to give access and would be accompanied by a tramway ‘to be operated by animal, steam, electric, or any other power.’
Work commenced in the Spring of 1893, 3ft (914mm) gauge had already been agreed as the standard after the success of the Isle of Man Railway’s 3ft lines from Douglas. Regular service began on 7 September. The service ran for only 17 days before closing for the winter but carried 20,000 passengers. Construction on an extension to Laxey was started in February 1894 and opened on 28 July of that year, putting Laxey on the map and developing Glen Gardens as a major attraction. The unique Snaefell Mountain Railway, built during 1895, also ran from the village of Laxey to the summit of Snaefell, the only mountain on the Island.
Going from strength to strength, a further extension to Ballure opened on 2 August 1898 and the final section to Ramsey opened on 24 July 1899.
The War Years had an impact on the Manx Electric Railway, as passenger numbers fell away and deficits increased each year. After WWI the numbers rose again in 1919 and through the 20s. During the 1940s an average of 750,000 passengers a year travelled on the M.E.R, but after WWII, the late 1940s saw numbers again beginning to dwindle. Following financial problems and threatened closures, support for the M.E.R finally lead to its amalgamation with the steam railway in 1978, both railways coming under the title of Isle of Man Railways and ensuring its survival.
In 1986 the M.E.R fell under the control of the Department of Tourism and Transport. In 2018 the Manx Electric Railway celebrates its 125th anniversary; the line still operates, with the majority of its original Victorian and Edwardian rolling stock in daily use.
Want to see all our rail covers? View them all here