Buckingham Covers - First Day Covers

Sir Terry Pratchett OBE


Terry Pratchett is one of Britain's most popular and best-selling fiction authors with over twelve million sales. Pratchett is perhaps best known for his Discworld series containing approximately 30 books. Pratchett's humorous fantasy stories parody numerous fantasy and science fiction characters, ideas and tropes. Born 28th April 1948 in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire he attended the High Wycombe Technical High School. When Pratchett's short story "The Hades Business" was published in the school magazine and then commercially published when he was fifteen it was clear that he was destined for a bright future. In 1965 Pratchett left school and when a job opportunity came up on the Bucks Free Press he started his career in journalism. Whilst on assignment for the Press interviewing publisher Peter Bander van Duren, Pratchett mentioned he had written a book called "The Carpet People". In 1971 "The Carpet People" was published and followed by "The Dark Side of the Sun" in 1976. Pratchett moved to the Western Daily Press on 28 September 1970 and returned to the Press in 1972 as a sub-editor. In 1980 Pratchett was appointed publicity officer for the Central Electricity Generating Board. It was whilst working with the CEGB that Pratchett wrote the first in the Discworld series The "Colour of Magic" (published in 1983). In September 1987 soon after completing Mort Pratchett decided that he could afford to devote himself to full-time writing. Numerous successes followed with "Guards! Guards!" (1990) "Hogfather" (1997) and "Carpe Jugulum" (1999). More recently Pratchett's "Going Postal" (2004), centred on the Ankh Morpork Post Office, provided the trademark Pratchett humour along with an astute social commentary. In 1998 Pratchett was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature. In 1999 he received an honorary Doctorate of Literature (D.Litt) from the University of Warwick and in 2001 from the University of Portsmouth. On 10th December 2003 he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Bath.